Click Here to Check Out Our Winners!

Balchen/Post Award

The purpose of this award is to promote excellence in snow and ice control and to recognize those individuals responsible for outstanding performance. It  is presented each year at the International Aviation Snow Symposium (IASS) honoring airports in the commercial, general aviation and military categories.

The award initially was named solely after Col. Bernt Balchen. A native of Norway,  he had a distinguished career in aviation, particularly in pioneering Arctic exploration. He was the first person to pilot an aircraft over both poles. Eventually Balchen moved to the United States. He became a US citizen and served in the US Air Force. Balchen was a Distinguished Flying Cross recipient, among many of his recognitions. Col. Balchen was a great supporter of the NEC. He was one of the founding members of IASS and served as the honorary chairman of the Symposium. 

The first Balchen Award was presented at the IASS in 1977, honoring the airport crews for their efforts during the '76-'77 winter season. At the IASS in 1997, Wiley Post Jr.'s name was added, to honor his contributions. The award was renamed to Col. Bernt Balchen / Wiley Post Jr. Award

Mr. Post served as the manager of Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton Airport (ABE) for 35 years. He was also one of the founding members of the IASS, serving as chairman of the first Snow Symposium that he hosted at ABE in 1967. Post is celebrated for his dedicated service to the IASS and NEC that spanned 30 years.

NEC is proud to administer the prestigious Balchen/Post Award and to carry the tradition of recognizing airports and hard working snow crews.

Read more about Col. Balchen and Mr. Post.


To be considered for an award, an airport may be recommended by a user or users of the airport, or make direct application. 

In the selection process, the committee will give careful consideration to the following:

  • Degree of in-depth preparedness:
    • Snow and ice control plan, equipment readiness, personnel training, overall safety awareness
  • Effectiveness of snow and ice control program:
    •  Aeronautical areas
      • Runways
      • Taxiways
      • Aprons
      • Ramps
      • Runway/taxiway lighting
      • Signs
  • Timeliness and accuracy of communications during the snow and ice control effort with:
    • The airlines
    • General aviation
    • The public
    • The FAA
    • Other airport users
  • Post-storm activity:
    • Clean-up
    • Critique



Tim Haizlip, MPA, C.M.

Adam Williams
Aircraft Owner & Pilots Association

Regional Airline Association 

Alex Gertsen, C.M.
National Business Aviation Association

Richard P. DeiTos, Jr.
Metropolitan Washington
Airlines Committee

Andrew Sousa / Captain Jeffrey Sedin
Air Line Pilots Association

Phillip L. Davenport
Federal Aviation Administration

Airlines for America

Preston Benedyk, DAF
Tyndall AFB

Megan Eisenstein
National Air Transportation Association 


F. Russell Hoyt Presidential Award

After serving 24 distinguished years as the first President of the American Association of Airport Executives, F. Russell Hoyt retired in 1983 and became the first Executive Director of the NEC, a position he held with equal distinction until his passing in 1997. In 2000, to recognize his generous and accomplished service to NEC, the AAAE, and the aviation industry, the NEC renamed its President’s Award the F. Russell Hoyt Presidential Award.

Each year, the NEC President selects an awardee who reflects the commitment and dedication to the airport industry and to the NEC that Russ Hoyt exhibited. This award is presented at the Awards Luncheon at the Chapter’s Annual Conference.


2021     Melinda Montgomery, A.A.E., Zach Sundquist, A.A.E., Darren Large, A.A.E., Ed Foster, A.A.E., Richard Williams, A.A.E. 
2020     Melinda Montgomery, A.A.E.

2019     Maria Sheridan, A.A.E., Joe Guarino, C.M.
2018     Guillermo Felix, Ann Richart, A.A.E., Rebecca Hubb, A.A.E., Elaine Roberts, A.A.E., Jeanne Olivier, A.A.E., ACE, Barbara Patzner, A.A.E. ACE
2017     Carlton E. Braley Jr., A.A.E. 
2016     Wayne Pennell, A.A.E.
2015     Paul J. Wiedefeld, A.A.E.
2014     Bill Vanacek, Niagara Frontier Aviation Authority
2013     Richard J. Williams, A.A.E.
2012     Alfred Pollard, A.A.E.
2011     Thomas Dames, A.A.E./Marshall Stevens, A.A.E.
2010     Alex Kashani, A.A.E.
2009     Terry Goralski
2008     Leo Comeau, AAE/Richard Horstmann, CM
2007     Al Graser, A.A.E.
2006     Bryan Corbett, A.A.E./Paul McDonough
2005     Stephen J. Adams, A.A.E.
2004     Jeanne Olivier, A.A.E.
2003     Alex Kashani, A.A.E.
2002     Robert Nowak
2001     Michael Campbell, A.A.E./Debra Wright
2000     Cecil Sutton
1999     Charles Hostetter, A.A.E.
1998     Robert Bogan, A.A.E.
1997     John Duval, A.A.E.
1996     Mark Brewer, A.A.E.
1995     27 Privately owned/Public use Airport
1994     37 Airports
1993     Gerald FitzGerald, A.A.E.
1992     John Armour, A.A.E.
1991     James Malarky
1990     Robert Nowak/John Hornbuckle
1989     Fred Hidinger
1988     John Dickerson
1987     E. Mike Goodwin

Jerry FitzGerald, A.A.E. NEC Corporate Award of Excellence

At the NEC 42nd Annual Conference in 2000, the Chapter instituted its Corporate Appreciation Award to recognize the corporate member who has demonstrated leadership and commitment to the Chapter and its members through sponsorships, committee work, and overall support above and beyond what is normally expected.

In June 2015, the award was renamed the Jerry FitzGerald, A.A.E. NEC Corporate Award of Excellence in honor of the late Jerry FitzGerald, A.A.E. Jerry’s commitment to NEC/AAAE, the AAAE, and the aviation industry embodied the spirit of the award. His leadership with the NEC/AAAE included service as Chapter President, National Chairman, both Executive and Corporate membership and as a member of the Board of Directors. Jerry made our Association stronger and more successful.

Each year, the NEC President selects the awardee, who is announced and presented during the Corporate Appreciation Luncheon at the Chapter’s Annual Conference.

Corporate Award of Excellence Awardees

2021     Dave Jones, Delta Airport Consultants

2020     Todd Rushing, Sherwin Industries

2019     Chad Nixon - McFarland Johnson, Inc.

2018     Claudia B. Holliway (In Memorium)

2017     Mary M. Miller - BBA Aviation/Signature Flight Support

2016     Manik Arora - Arora Engineers, Inc.

2015     Chad Nixon - McFarland Johnson, Inc.

2014     Todd Rushing - Sherwin Industries

2013     Larry Bauman, CM - URS Corporation

2012     Gary Kogut, CM - Oshkosh Corporation

2011     Richard Horstmann, CM - Urban Engineers

2010     Bernard Drury - Henry Brothers Electronics

2009     Armen DerHohannesian Associates

2008     Richard Singleton - Sealcoating Inc.

2007     Leon Watkins - The Hudson Group

2006     Steven Baldwin,- The Louis Berger Group

2005     Smart Associates

2004     Thomas Ball - MMS, Inc.

2003     Hoyle Tanner/Milliken Carpet

2002     Sherwin Industries/HNTB

2001     Mike Crowe - Oshkosh Truck

2000     Debra Wright - Verizon

Additional Awards

2021 Lifetime Achievement Award - Carlton Braley, A.A.E.

2021 NEC/AAAE Presidents Special Recognition Award - Nick McLaughlin

2019 Distinguished Service Award - Richard Williams

2004 Lifetime Achievement Award - Vincent Scarano

2000 NEC Service Award - Robert Nowak

1996 Lifetime Service Award - Russell Hoyt, A.A.E.

1996 Lifetime Service Award - James Malarky